Small beginnings

“Begin at the beginning and go on till you come to the end: then stop.” (The King of Hearts, Alice in Wonderland. Lewis Carroll).

I wasn’t quite sure where to begin to be honest. Where is the beginning? Well, I guess we can start with who I am and why I am writing this. I am a young woman in Australia who has been playing World of Warcraft now, for, oh… lets say the last two years. My ex boyfriend got me hooked onto the game in the simplest, yet most sneaky of ways: “Come to bed dear!”, “Not right now, I am in the middle of a Scholo run! Be there soon”. Soon, of course, was several hours later, when I was already fast asleep. Needless to say, once the rage wore off, I was curious to see what would keep an otherwise healthy, red blooded male up at all hours when he could be sleeping next to his girlfriend.

So began the adventure that was World of Warcraft. My younger brother also had an account, and he kindly let me create a character on it just so I could have a peek. I have to admit, that was one of the most painful, drawn out experiences of my life. I was immediately attracted to Alliance (the Horde all looked like they were in desperate need of a bath, and the Alliance looked slightly better groomed), and went towards a human because, lets face it, fantasy was never my strong suit. I had full intentions of creating a rogue (the idea of sneaking around stabbing things in the back appealed strongly to me), but my boyfriend discouraged me (a rogue? That’s probably a bit challenging for a, ahem… non gamer such as yourself). Fine. So I would probably suck at the stabby stabby. To this day, I still move using my cursor keys – shame shame, I know. I glanced at the other human classes – warrior? Too butch. Priest? Too holy. Mage? Waaaaay too goody-goody. OoooOooo, warlock. Now this sounds intriguing! And so, Saresa was born, and her noobish forays into WoW began in earnest.

For the second question, I guess I am blogging because I love to communicate. Plain and simple. I am already afraid that I will run out of things to say, I know, but I am hoping that this is first time blog nerves. I have been an avid reader of World of Warcraft blogs now for quite a while, and have always secretly desired to write one myself. I am quite happy to admit that there are many things I do not know about the warlock class, and I am always trying to learn new things. So I will write about the little that I DO know (or think I know, always feel free to correct me!), in the hopes of learning more. My alt may even make it in here occasionally, if the sheer evilness of the place doesn’t offend her druidic sensibilities. However, I don’t think that I could write specifically about WoW all the time… I don’t have the depth of knowledge required, nor am I a fan of theorycrafting (just FYI – future English/History teachers don’t always have mathematics as a strong suit). Well, that may be wrong – I enjoy reading OTHER people’s theorycrafting, but I can not do it myself to save my life.

And that, my friends, is the end for now. I hope the King of Hearts is satisfied.

~ by Angela on April 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

